Uganda Honey

Honey in its purest

A beautiful welcome gift from Chiang Mai…………………….

Driving from the South to the North took us 2 days. We had to time our route so as not to get ourselves caught in the unrest in Bangkok if there are any.

Saw the colony on the window edge when I entered the room.Something interesting happened and you will never believe it! By the time we reached Chiang Mai, we were dead tired. We stayed at GardenView Hotel in Chiang Mai. When I opened up the door to my room, I saw something huge hanging outside the window. As I walked closer to see, I was very shocked and surprised to see a colony for the Himalayan bee, (Api Dorsata is the largest honey bee species in the World), clinging on to the window.

The sight was breathtaking! One can never have the opportunity to view this species so up close. Api dorsata are very aggressive when disturbed. Imagine the size is about the size of your pinky.

I really could not believe my eyes! It was as if Chiang Mai is welcoming me with such a special gift, a gift from God!

Picture taken from the outside of the window.

I could not resist. I had to open up the window, (8th floor), to get a better, clearer picture for my collections. It was indeed a priced photo.

One interesting behaviours about this species is that every afternoon, they will leave the nest in a swarm and start to defecate. During the Vietnam war, American Soldiers who were on their tour of duty experienced it and initially thought it was a chemical warfare deployed by the Viet Cong. It was known as “The Yellow Rain”.

Up close and personal with Dorsata.

I had the honor to see them up close and personal. 🙂

Api Dorsata

Professor Burgett and Dr. Pichwand immersed in deep thoughts.

March 3, 2010 - Posted by | apiculture, bee colony, bee hive, Beekeeping, beekeeping journal | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. Amazing! Both the colony and the coincidence of getting this hotel room! Someone up there really wanted to let you have a look at them 🙂 I’m a new reader of your blog, and learning a lot. Thanks for sharing your knowledge! Any new updates in 2018?

    Comment by chiakaivalya | January 22, 2018 | Reply

  2. Now that’s what i call a proper swarm!

    Comment by Ian | September 17, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Ian, glad you like it! 🙂

      Comment by Lesster | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  3. Wow now that is an impressive swarm, makes ours in the UK look like miniatures, great photos!

    Comment by ian | September 17, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Ian, yes, it was indeed breahth taking, especially so close to them.

      Comment by Lesster | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  4. amazing, really amazing. would of loved to of seen them. thank you for sharing!

    Comment by marnie | September 17, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Marnie, thanks for visiting my blog.

      Comment by Lesster | September 18, 2011 | Reply

  5. That is really wonderful! I wish all my hotel rooms were so well equipped 🙂

    Comment by Bug Girl | September 17, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi BugGirl,

      Well, I should think that it was a miracle to have such a beautiful sight!

      Comment by Lesster | September 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a comment